Automating "Bid High Initially" PPC Strategy?

jetto

STRICTLY BUSINESS
Feb 20, 2010
703
5
0
So suppose I have a campaign with a shitload of keywords. Also, let's suppose that "bidding high initially", gaining "CTR history" and then gradually lowering the bids is the optimal strategy.

How would I go about automating this strategy over 1000s of keywords?
 


programming... algorithms. the company i used to work at as a programmer had a ppc campaign management system that would even allow you to set a specific position on the page for your adwords/yahoo/msn ads. too bad the guy running it defaulted on a $2 million dollar line of credit from google... lol.
 
So the answer is automated bidding tools? The strategy would be for example:

1) Bid for #3 (or #2 or whatever) position on every keyword for X clicks or Y weeks or whatever

2) Gradually lower bid as much as you can without losing position

Yes?
 
is this topic too business-related? do we need to discuss some stupid shit to get people to reply?
 
Automated bidding through APIs would be my idea.

However, don't expect this to actually work, at least not on AdWords and equally sophisticated systems as they normalize CTR data.
 
Automated bidding through APIs would be my idea.

However, don't expect this to actually work, at least not on AdWords and equally sophisticated systems as they normalize CTR data.

The question then becomes how well is it normalized? ;) Is it normalized "enough" to not give advantage to higher positions?
 
I've used this as a bid strategy for a 25K keywords account and nailed it down using filters in adwords editor and spreadsheets. If I had to do it regularly, I'd go adwords API for this, but I haven't looked into Rules.

CTR is normalised by ad position, but there are other reasons to do it.

The reason I did it was to get traffic moving quickly on keywords so I could cull ones that didn't get clicks or didn't convert, and start gathering broad match data.
 
adwords editor + excel are your friends.. It's easy to select all your keywords and drop them a given % or $ amount in the editor. Also you could export the campaign into excel and create your own logic to adjust bids and import back into adwords editor. And last you could just build the campaign structure right and let google auto-bid it all and not do any of the above.

I'm fairly certain the new adwords automated rules can only look up to the last 30 days of activity to trigger. Like mentioned earlier the API's you can pretty much do anything to a campaign programatically..
 
Your best bet would be to manually test your logic first on a controlled set of keywords. For example, make a campaign with a manageable number of keywords and over a period of X impressions or clicks and Y time intervals (say every hour/day/etc), manually optimize your bids (either lower/raise/leave as is) and record the results. Record your profit at each iteration and see if your logic works to produce an ideal campaign. A higher position may not equate to higher profit so your system should use profit as the deciding factor on its adjustments. If the adjustments you make work and can be programmed out, then get API access or CURL out the process and test it on the same campaign to see if your code does as well as you do manually.

The only thing to keep in mind is that there are a lot of other outside factors that can skew your results that is hard for you to control automatically. For example, a handful of new bidders could come in on a single day and cause you to make adjustments that will fry your campaign. Certain days (holidays, weekends, etc) may yield different conversions that if not accounted for could again cause your logic to nuke your campaign (ie: lower bids too low to maintain a decent CTR and burn your history). Also, you'll need to set limits/thresholds on your system - there are a lot of occasions where you may have to start bidding in a position where you are running at a loss while the networks algorithm optimizes you so programming around this can be both tricky/dangerous.

Lots of factors to consider outside of 'submit keyword, gradually lower bid.'
 
If you tested the strategy and sure about it then you can easily do this using APIs.
(Just hire someone from elance/freelancer.com)
But, don't try if you're not sure about this strategy or your credit card will be burnt!

I'm no good with Adwords, so no idea about the strategy but in a Software Developer's point, this tool can be done easily in few hours!
 
As mentioned above, your CTR is relative to your position. So if you bid $25 a click for position 1 and have a CTR of 5.4% and the other 3 top spots have a CTR of 8%, 9%, 10% then your QS will still take a hit and your ad rank will suffer.

Just worry about bidding what you can afford and getting your quality score up, then optimize for conversions and raise your bids as your conversion rate improves...

As far as bulk-editing, Adwords Editor is your friend...