Pablo Escobar's Media Buying Path To $273.97/Day

Pablo Escobar

Exporter of Flowers
Aug 17, 2011
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Yo', name's Pablo Escobar. I've dabbled in Internet marketing for almost 2 years now and have had some success, but nothing worth bragging about. After doing a bit of self-reflection, my inability to succeed in my endeavors can all be boiled down by the fact that I give up too easily on my projects and am constantly jumping between traffic sources. So, I've decided to pick one aspect of Internet marketing and pursue it until I've become an "expert" in it. That single aspect for me will be media buying.

The ultimate goal for me is to achieve $273.97/day profit by 2012. Why $273.97/day? Because, if I can make $273.97/day I will be sitting on $100,000 after a year as long as that $273.97 profit comes in on a consistent basis.

This thread will serve as 1) a follow-along case study, 2) as a way for me to bring up any questions I have in hopes they'll be answered and 3) as a way to keep myself accountable and on-track with my goal.

Now, for the time being I will be doing direct media buys, rather than using an ad serving platform. This means I will be doing all the foot work with regards to researching sites I'd like to buy ad space from along with contacting the webmasters of those sites to approach them about buying said ad space. The reason I'll be doing this is to familiarize myself with how the entire media buying process works before I launch myself into running my ads with ad serving networks.

The vertical I will be devoting myself to will be biz opps and I will be running my traffic exclusively through EWA as both my AM and Ryan himself have been very accessible and helpful whenever I have had questions in the past and I'd rather build a relationship up with them than jump from network to network.

So far I've done the following:

1) Picked the offer I want to push
2) Researched the demo of the offer
3) Found 20 sites whose demos match that of the offer
4) Emailed the webmasters of those 20 sites

My questions so far:

1) Since I'm just getting started in media buying, I am naturally inclined to start small with regards to my buys. Small buys naturally lend themselves to smaller sites, however I don't really know how a "smaller" site is gauged in terms of unique visitors. Ryan's EWA guide on media buying suggests not going after sites who don't have traffic volume that lends itself to anything less than 100K unique visitors/month. However, in the little research I've done, I've found that many webmasters of sites who have such volume charge outrageous CPMs (one guy was charging $35 per thousand impressions) or outrageous flat rates that I can't even consider purchasing at the moment. What resources are out there to aid me in the site research process?

2) Touching on the above, what are the industry standards with regards to CPM/flat rate models with regards to volume, traffic quality, and the like? This will prove very helpful when it comes to negotiating fees with the webmasters I approach.

3) What options do I have with regards to creating the ads themselves?

4) What's the best way to split test my creatives since I am not using an ad serving platform which would do that for me easily?

The things I need to do:

1) Hear back from the webmasters I contacted

2) Ask webmasters who agree to let me buy ad space questions about their traffic, how past advertisers did with offers similar to mine have done in the past, and if I can do a test run of their traffic (which can take place through email or over the phone)

3) Follow up in a week with those webmasters who didn't respond to my initial email

4) Begin creating the ads themselves for the offer I'm pushing in sizes 728 x 90, 300 x 250, 160 x 600 and 120 x 600, as I've read (fact check, please) that these banners generate 80% of clicks when compared to the other sizes

Having said that, due to how I green I am with regards to the media buying space, I've gone ahead and got my hands on some resources on media buying, namely a seminar by Amish Shah, and eBooks/courses from Mike Morgan and Scott Rewick (yes, I am taking these with a grain of salt due to how easily misinformation is disseminated through eBooks/courses from self-proclaimed gurus). If anyone has any other good informational resources on media buying, let me know.

And, that's it for now. I'm looking forward to growing with the help of my fellow Wickedfire members and am excited to show this growth in publicly as I believe it will help if I constantly update this and stay honest throughout my successes and blunders.
 


Day 2 of Pablo Escobar's Media Buying Path To $273.97/Day

In my last post, I stated that I had a list of 4 things I needed to do. One of those things was create the ads for the banners of specified sizes. As of this morning, I have begun this process. At the moment, I've been using MS Paint to create the ads (I go hard in the motherfucking Paint!). For inspiration, I've just been Googling keywords related to my offer, click through a few of the results and looking at the ads that are running on them. That being said, here's an example of one of my ads:

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For those who are more experienced in the creation of high CTR ads, please destroy the fuck out of that ad. I'd be really interested in what you have to say, as it will help me better understand how I should be thinking when making my creatives.

Now, yesterday while I was working on ads I had a chat going on AIM with my AM over at EWA. While I was spamming the fuck out of him with my poor attempts at making ads in MS Paint, he suggested I grab some ads that I've seen across multiple websites whose theme is related to biz opps and then split test those against the ones I'm creating. So, I did just that. Google's image search makes it incredibly easy to do this, by the way, as you can search by picture dimension.

Another thing that came up while I was working on making creatives was the fact I hadn't even considered throwing landing pages into the process (which, trust me, was one of my personal best d'oh moments). Now that I have, I've been doing some research into the pages those aforementioned popular biz opp ads are sending people to and have started to save many of them for inspiration. A lot of them were fake news sites, though, so...

Okay, now to other shit.

So far, I've sent emails out to approximately 30 webmasters and have received responses from 2 of them. For those 2 that responded, we've set up tentative appointments to jump on a call together and discuss me buying ad space on their site. While this is very exciting to me, I'm scared shitless. For one, I have never really enjoyed talking on the phone with people who I don't know personally because I become hypercritical about the things I'm saying and it causes me to trip over my words. Second off, I really, really don't want to sound like an idiot when I'm trying to sell this guy on selling me ad space. However, I'll just take a fucking Xanax or something before the phone calls, and to prevent myself from sounding stupid, I will look up and memorize every single media buying specific term I can. Luckily, I have Xanax and an eBook on media buying that has a glossary of terms specific to media buying.

That considered, every day I will be researching websites whose demos fit those of my offer and sending emails out to their webmasters to initiate the media buying sequence. I plan on doing this until I have a couple of ad spaces bought as I will want to devote a lot of my attention to optimizing those campaigns.

On top of that, I will continue to collect and create ads and landers so that everything is ready to go once I actually finalize a media buy with a webmaster.

And now for some projection math which I realize some people hate to do, but it helps me put things in perspective.

So, say I have a goal of making a 100% ROI on my first media buying campaign. Let's then say that the particular ad space I bought cost me a flat rate of $350 for 100,000 impressions and that the EPC of the biz opp offer is $2. Now say I want to figure out what CTR my ads need to generate that 100% ROI. This is how it will all break down:

Adspend: $350
Revenue generated: $700 (100% ROI on $350)

$700 = 100,000 impressions x CTR x $2.00 EPC
$700 = 100,000*2x
$700 = 200,000x
$700/200,000 = x
x = 0.0035

So, for me to see a 100% ROI with the above details, my ads would need to be generating a CTR of 0.35% which doesn't sound too, too bad although when I ran Facebook ads I was never able to achieve that high of a CTR. But, maybe with the ability to hypertarget people that will change? I guess we'll see.