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Old 12-08-2009, 07:01 PM   #1
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Shamelessplug My Facebook Experiment: Just created my first Ad. We will see how it goes

Alright, enough of this slow going SEO crap. I finally bit the bullet and went for some PPC type traffic. This is my first attempt, so we will see how it goes.

I created my first ad a few minutes ago, and it has now been approved and is Active. I dont realy know all the ins and outs, but I will learn as I go. I used CPM and it is set at .43. Hopefully that is ok.

I will update how it goes since this is a live experiment, not one of these "I am going to..." threads. I am not going to...I am.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:05 PM   #2
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Good luck man.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:08 PM   #3
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Interesting

Looking forward to see how you do... U gonna share some more details???
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:10 PM   #4
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I will share more details as it goes. Right now I have 0 imps.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:19 PM   #5
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I'm about to do the same. I submitted a dozen or so adwords ads last night because i had a $100 coupon code laying around and SEO is really slow going...my ads still aren't approved though and now i'm getting antsy so im figuring i can find a coupon or something and give it a go.

Did you only submit one ad? I dunno much but from what I have read it seems like you probably want to do at least a dozen or so variations so you can see what performs best, kill the shit ones, and then refine them...interested to see how it goes though good luck.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
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ok... i'm completely new to AM... just wondering if you're going to tell what offers u running etc... fully understand if not. I think i'm gonna have my first bash at facebook this weekend... Are you using landing pages etc..? Do you use 3rd party tracking software or is all the info provided by FB? forgive all the questions.. i will try contribute where i can. subscribed!
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:25 PM   #7
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@ webetricky - do you mean different ad's for the same offer or multiple offers? As I said... gonna give this a shot over the weekend so doing my homework till then. Will keep u posted if i source any vouchers...
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:34 PM   #8
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Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:45 PM   #9
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greyhat you have wayyy more reading to do, if you start ppc with fb this weekend you might as well flush your dough down the toilet. I've been reading hours a day till my eyes bleed for the past 3 months and still don't know wtf i'm doing but i got a free $100 ad voucher and reading will only take you so far before you have to start experimenting. Read all the stickies on wickedfire, than read all the blogs, etc..i've been experimenting with SEO, that's a good way to go for us newbs cause it's cheaper and lets you get a feel for marketing.
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Old 12-08-2009, 07:56 PM   #10
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Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.
I dunno but that sounds ridic. Maybe you should pause the ad/s till you get it sorted.
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Old 12-08-2009, 08:06 PM   #11
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OK well maybe I'll steer clear for now... thnx. I'll see how this thread goes and take it from there. I'm itching to go!! I've been doing a bit of reading up on SEO with a bit of practice... As far as i can see you need to get the basics down so you have stuff in mind when building sites and once your up and running it's steady manual stuff... Any thoughts on outsourcing SEO work?? Seems a bit sketchy to me! I think it boils down to who you can trust at the end of the day...
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Old 12-08-2009, 08:16 PM   #12
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Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.
The reason why your cost per click is so high is because your ads are not targeted. Facebook is a CTR game, If you can make Ads with high CTR you will kill it in no time.

Example Facebook Campaign - Take a look at this thread and soak it in.

Your CPC is high because you tried to target demographics without any Facebook experience. Target keywords and I guarantee you will be paying alot less per click. Once you get the hang of making profitable campaigns with keyword targeting then try demographic targeting.
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Old 12-08-2009, 08:22 PM   #13
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Quote:
Originally Posted by MoobSpray View Post
The reason why your cost per click is so high is because your ads are not targeted. Facebook is a CTR game, If you can make Ads with high CTR you will kill it in no time.

Example Facebook Campaign - Take a look at this thread and soak it in.

Your CPC is high because you tried to target demographics without any Facebook experience. Target keywords and I guarantee you will be paying alot less per click. Once you get the hang of making profitable campaigns with keyword targeting then try demographic targeting.
That thread is what got me going on facebook.

Anyway, I blew $50 in ten minutes. I targeted a demo, but not keywords. I will try that.

Thanks
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Old 12-08-2009, 09:30 PM   #14
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Here's a few ideas:

Make sure the advert is eye catching to your target demo. Things like women, cars, money are good for men. For women try cute animals. People wearing odd or socially significant outfits work to get attention (weddings, masquerades etc.)

Use borders; try using a complementary colour, if you don't know off the top of your head go here

I've tended to find that utilising simple relevant images plus the brand logo work well.

Remember that Facebook traffic is generally pretty Lazy; people go on it to pass time rather than actively searching on keywords to buy something, offer things which would appeal to that mindset.

Split test hundreds of variations of different ads. image then title seem to be most important. Titles that ask a question which arouses curiosity and is relevant to the prospect will get more clicks.

Split test age ranges, geographic location, keywords (note, reports provided by facebook will help you narrow down). This will mean making say 3 identical ads that target different age ranges; one 20-25, 26-30, 31-35 etc.

Hope that helps.
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Old 12-09-2009, 12:46 AM   #15
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Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUltimate6 View Post
Here's a few ideas:

Make sure the advert is eye catching to your target demo. Things like women, cars, money are good for men. For women try cute animals. People wearing odd or socially significant outfits work to get attention (weddings, masquerades etc.)

Use borders; try using a complementary colour, if you don't know off the top of your head go here

I've tended to find that utilising simple relevant images plus the brand logo work well.

Remember that Facebook traffic is generally pretty Lazy; people go on it to pass time rather than actively searching on keywords to buy something, offer things which would appeal to that mindset.

Split test hundreds of variations of different ads. image then title seem to be most important. Titles that ask a question which arouses curiosity and is relevant to the prospect will get more clicks.

Split test age ranges, geographic location, keywords (note, reports provided by facebook will help you narrow down). This will mean making say 3 identical ads that target different age ranges; one 20-25, 26-30, 31-35 etc.

Hope that helps.
Cool +rep.
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Old 12-09-2009, 01:27 PM   #16
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Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.
You don't set the CPC when running CPM. What the CPC means when you're running ads paying CPM is what it's costing you per click for each thousand impressions you pay for. Its just something that Facebook tells you, not something you set. For example, if you're paying $1.00 per 1000 impressions and you get 2 clicks for each thousand impressions your CPC is going to be $0.50. Where as if you got 4 clicks for each 1000 impressions your CPC would be $0.25. When running CPM your CPC will change based on how many clicks you get per 1000 impressions. The more clicks the lower the CPC. If you want to lower that number (and you do), you need to work on your ad copy and make it more effective.
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Old 12-09-2009, 02:50 PM   #17
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Facebook just pisses me off. I see a great opportunity in my country to do this, my ads and images are targeted and keep getting rejected, yet I see some punky ass shit going to some other mobile offers and there are plenty of that shit there, probably from the same guy, who is targeting it nicely. I wonder if that motherfucker has some inside people. I lost too many hours over this. At least Adwords gladly takes my money and rape me in the ass.
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Old 12-09-2009, 02:54 PM   #18
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is FB CPM only? or can you do CPC at a set rate? Thanks!
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Old 12-09-2009, 03:23 PM   #19
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You can choose either CPC or CPM. There is a suggested range value to which you can choose.
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Old 12-09-2009, 04:20 PM   #20
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thnx. I am just trying to find my feet at the moment. My goal at the minute is to build up a portfolio of sites with a steady amount of good quality traffic. Hopefully this will put me on better standing with the affiliate networks. the way i see it you need everything to be perfect with this sort of thing in order to maximise return... and there is money at stake!!
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Old 12-09-2009, 04:22 PM   #21
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UPDATE:

Yesterday, I blew my $50 budget in like 10 minutes using CPM. No conversions. But, lesson learned. I am going to do some studying and get up and running again for another shot, today.

I think I am going CPC next time.
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Old 12-09-2009, 04:30 PM   #22
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Yeah, i was gonna say... i think i will go for cpc. i remember seeing some data i think a while back and some ad's were getting like 900000 views with 1 click. Quick way to burn some money!!
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Old 12-09-2009, 06:01 PM   #23
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Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
UPDATE:

Yesterday, I blew my $50 budget in like 10 minutes using CPM. No conversions. But, lesson learned. I am going to do some studying and get up and running again for another shot, today.

I think I am going CPC next time.

You really need to target keywords to take advantage of FB. I've had campaigns where I paid as little as .02$ per click. You just have to get your keyword targeting down.

You can even try to delve a little deeper into certain subjects and find rare keywords that might associate FB users with what you're pushing.
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Old 12-09-2009, 06:09 PM   #24
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Originally Posted by twentysomething View Post
You really need to target keywords to take advantage of FB. I've had campaigns where I paid as little as .02$ per click. You just have to get your keyword targeting down.

You can even try to delve a little deeper into certain subjects and find rare keywords that might associate FB users with what you're pushing.
So far, this has been over my head. I just submitted a new campaign with keywords, we will see how I do. (Different offer than the original.)
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Old 12-09-2009, 06:13 PM   #25
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I just found this: The 10 Laws Of Facebook Advertising No Marketer Can Afford To Ignore
It seems to be a reliable source and solid info. After reading the first two paragraphs i realised that i am in way over my head!! It seems that with facebook you are going to get the best results by establishing long term relationships/contacts with users with a view to keeping them hooked and making sales down the line. As opposed to making quick sales. This is because your average FB user is not in buying mode.
For this you need to develop some sort of infrastructure beforehand to manage your relationships. This could be a simple mailing list where you can group users according to preferrences OR i was thinking maybe some solid sites with good hooks to keep people returning etc... with a view to monetising in the long term. Well... back to the drawing board for me!! Any thoughts on this 'relationship' based approach i.e. how to convert?? I will post when i have done a bit more research.
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Old 12-09-2009, 06:31 PM   #26
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Quick Tip: CPM is only really worth while when you're getting a CTR higher than 1%, and bidding $1.00cpm.
Doing the maths, you're going to want a CTR of 2% when bidding $2.00cpm, etc.

It's not hard to get a campaign to float between 1-2% if you know what you're doing.
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Old 12-09-2009, 07:56 PM   #27
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Notes from each of the points in the article i linked above ^
1. Facbook is an ineffective platform for direct sales. Instead, you need to focus on building relationships.

2. Targeting factors (age, sex, interests etc..) can and should be used. e.g.ou could use birthday, age and location to promote a bar/nightclub with drinks offers etc...

3. A good technique (that i have seen in practice) is to use the ad's on facebook to promote any pages/events/applications that you have in place with a view to building relationships.

4. An important step in the preperation for a campiagn is to 'define your market' . You need to determine what need you (as a company) fulfill and defining who is likely to want/need that need fulfilled. This allows for more effective use of targeting.

5. Slightly confused here! It says to budget for the long term and measure your initial return as users engaged in your infrastucture... (fans etc...). UNLESS you are an affiliate marketer. I presume as an affiliate you need to budget for the short term. More reading on this i think. I assume that If it's no good for direct sales then that's that... and you need to run other offers. Do the other points still count anyone?? lol.

6.In theory, the more targeted your ad is, the higher your CTR will be. Make use of the monitoring tools provided by FB. Split test and adjust accordingly.

7. Test landing pages etc as well as building relationships on FB. Users who are happy can be a good source of further leads (traffic) even if they dont buy. This means that you must offer some value to the user with good conent/free stuf etc.. it is pointless trying to build relationships around spammy looking groups etc.. On the other hand, you need to convert at the end of the day so test differnt things and diversify! (does that make sense??!).

8. Keep narrowing your demographic and split test AD copy. As somebody else on here put it - throw shit at the wall and see what sticks!!

9. A 'call to action' is important in ad's. An incentive to click e.g. 'click here for free stuff!' or 'win a car!' etc.. Hint - if you see an ad all over t
he place, chances are they are doing something right. Look around in the printed media for inspiration. Bear in mind your target demograpic... e.g. use of slang will only appeal to certain age groups or etc..

10. Strike a balance when targeting. i.e. don't 'over target' if you have identified your customer base then split test copy to see what works... As a n00b you want to spread the word and not get really specific with your target market. If you find that you are having to target really deep to see results then you are probably better off sticking with something that has a broader appeal until you know what you are doing.

To sum up: With facebook ad's you need some sort of infrastucture with which to foster relationships. This can be in the form of groups/events/pages/apps on facebook itself or seperate websites. There must be some kind of 'hook' to keep users engaged, returning and spreading the word. This could be in the form of free stuff, good content (regularly updated), or maybe some sort of comunity that users can engage in (forum etc..). In order to monetise your traffic you need to aim to build relationships first and monetise at a later date. This is because users on facebook are generally not in 'buy mode'. As an example - you can target ad's on adwords to people who are in 'buy mode' by using keywords such as 'buy this now' etc.. On facebook you can't do that. So you must use the ad's to generate traffic and then convert them somehow.. I would say that spammy, poorly built, light on content/intersting stuff pages/sites will lose users and in turn lose money.

Any thoughts??
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Old 12-09-2009, 10:52 PM   #28
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Notes from each of the points in the article i linked above ^
1. Facbook is an ineffective platform for direct sales. Instead, you need to focus on building relationships.

2. Targeting factors (age, sex, interests etc..) can and should be used. e.g.ou could use birthday, age and location to promote a bar/nightclub with drinks offers etc...

3. A good technique (that i have seen in practice) is to use the ad's on facebook to promote any pages/events/applications that you have in place with a view to building relationships.

4. An important step in the preperation for a campiagn is to 'define your market' . You need to determine what need you (as a company) fulfill and defining who is likely to want/need that need fulfilled. This allows for more effective use of targeting.

5. Slightly confused here! It says to budget for the long term and measure your initial return as users engaged in your infrastucture... (fans etc...). UNLESS you are an affiliate marketer. I presume as an affiliate you need to budget for the short term. More reading on this i think. I assume that If it's no good for direct sales then that's that... and you need to run other offers. Do the other points still count anyone?? lol.

6.In theory, the more targeted your ad is, the higher your CTR will be. Make use of the monitoring tools provided by FB. Split test and adjust accordingly.

7. Test landing pages etc as well as building relationships on FB. Users who are happy can be a good source of further leads (traffic) even if they dont buy. This means that you must offer some value to the user with good conent/free stuf etc.. it is pointless trying to build relationships around spammy looking groups etc.. On the other hand, you need to convert at the end of the day so test differnt things and diversify! (does that make sense??!).

8. Keep narrowing your demographic and split test AD copy. As somebody else on here put it - throw shit at the wall and see what sticks!!

9. A 'call to action' is important in ad's. An incentive to click e.g. 'click here for free stuff!' or 'win a car!' etc.. Hint - if you see an ad all over t
he place, chances are they are doing something right. Look around in the printed media for inspiration. Bear in mind your target demograpic... e.g. use of slang will only appeal to certain age groups or etc..

10. Strike a balance when targeting. i.e. don't 'over target' if you have identified your customer base then split test copy to see what works... As a n00b you want to spread the word and not get really specific with your target market. If you find that you are having to target really deep to see results then you are probably better off sticking with something that has a broader appeal until you know what you are doing.

To sum up: With facebook ad's you need some sort of infrastucture with which to foster relationships. This can be in the form of groups/events/pages/apps on facebook itself or seperate websites. There must be some kind of 'hook' to keep users engaged, returning and spreading the word. This could be in the form of free stuff, good content (regularly updated), or maybe some sort of comunity that users can engage in (forum etc..). In order to monetise your traffic you need to aim to build relationships first and monetise at a later date. This is because users on facebook are generally not in 'buy mode'. As an example - you can target ad's on adwords to people who are in 'buy mode' by using keywords such as 'buy this now' etc.. On facebook you can't do that. So you must use the ad's to generate traffic and then convert them somehow.. I would say that spammy, poorly built, light on content/intersting stuff pages/sites will lose users and in turn lose money.

Any thoughts??

This is completely irrelevant to CPA affiliate marketing, you're not a company trying to build long term relationships and dont need to add value with content.

OP, get one of the $100 coupon being given away in another thread and test to see what works. See whats on the Ad Board. Read Nickycakes' newbie guide and his other facebook posts. Test, test, test.

Its no secret what works on facebook - dating, gaming, email submits, mobiles. Direct sales can work too and even ebooks. Rebills, if you're game enough to risk cloaking. All sorts of lead gen short form stuff.

Split test images and copy like a madman and keep digging for the right targets.
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Old 12-09-2009, 11:17 PM   #29
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UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

I will update with some pics tomorrow. I ran an ad for a CB product (Direct Link), but targeted. I ended up doing CPM, and got a CTR of .188, with a cpc of .14. I am pretty excited about that.

I ended up with 186 HOPs to a product with a gravity of 250, but no sales. In fact, only 11 order form impressions from that.

I hate Clickbank, but this was the easy thing I could target for a test. I am pleased with some of the results. I made big strides in my ad copy and targeting from the first to the second campaign. Now, I am going to build a squeeze page for this CB offer, and see if I can convert that way, instead of direct linking.

Thanks
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Old 12-10-2009, 02:45 AM   #30
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Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

I will update with some pics tomorrow. I ran an ad for a CB product (Direct Link), but targeted. I ended up doing CPM, and got a CTR of .188, with a cpc of .14. I am pretty excited about that.

I ended up with 186 HOPs to a product with a gravity of 250, but no sales. In fact, only 11 order form impressions from that.

I hate Clickbank, but this was the easy thing I could target for a test. I am pleased with some of the results. I made big strides in my ad copy and targeting from the first to the second campaign. Now, I am going to build a squeeze page for this CB offer, and see if I can convert that way, instead of direct linking.

Thanks
Don't forget to test out alot of images. I've seen a 3x CTR increase before just from changing the image in an Ad.

Also, It's not far fetched to get 0.02 cent clicks using keyword targeting so just keep pumping out those Ads until you get some winners.
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Old 12-10-2009, 05:20 AM   #31
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@dispel. ok thanks.... so as an affiliate marketer you don't aim to build releationships, you just go for direct action? What i posted then i suppose is more relevant as a marketing practice for actual companies? Back to the drawing board again!!
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Old 12-10-2009, 10:38 AM   #32
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I've a quick question about kw targeting on FB. Let's say you target people for golf as an example. You can keep targeting keywords for golf like: golf supplies, golf equipment, buy golf, golf gifts;;;; and so on. I'm trying to get "buy" words in there basically to target people who are more likely to purchase. But after adding all these keywords, the demo might decrease to like <100,000 people. So how do you scale back up after that? Or do you just let it run and then the campaign is over?

Also, what's a "good" ctr on fb? I'm currently ~0.206% which i'm pretty happy with cause i'm getting ~$0.11 clicks.
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Old 12-10-2009, 11:10 AM   #33
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have you read the full thread? The feeling that i am getting so far is that fb is an innefective platform for direct sales as users are generally not in 'buy mode'. Though it can be done, i don't think it is one for beginners... I'm no expert but as dispel said
Quote:
Its no secret what works on facebook - dating, gaming, email submits, mobiles. Direct sales can work too and even ebooks. Rebills, if you're game enough to risk cloaking. All sorts of lead gen short form stuff.
As i said... i am not in a position to give advice really.
If i had to choose from the list i would go for email submits but then again i don't know enough about the offer and the rates they pay comapred to the CPA. erm... are you having any sucess with your offer??
Anybody else??
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Old 12-10-2009, 01:15 PM   #34
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greyhat:

Get out of my thread. This is a Thread based on MY experiments, not a place to argue whether of not to use FB. No one cares what you think.
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Old 12-10-2009, 02:04 PM   #35
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k man. i'm new at this.
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Old 12-10-2009, 07:00 PM   #36
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Greyhat: You're feeling is also also amazingly wrong. Just because you suck at converting FB doesn't mean it's an ineffectual platform. It means you suck at marketing on FB.

Webetricky: Yeah, FB keyword targeting isn't Google. No one puts "buy cheap golf shoes" as a hobby or interest, and that's what you're targeting.
You could maybe try brand names, although I've found this is a really piss poor way of getting sales in the sports related niche I do.
I usually use pro events, and ifnd there's plenty of people in that. So for golf, you'd want something like "PGA Masters" as a peripheral keyword.
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Old 12-10-2009, 07:25 PM   #37
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Old 12-10-2009, 07:40 PM   #38
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UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

i took my CB offer that didnt convert, and created a squeeze page. Right now, I am sitting on 143 clicks with a cpc of .12, and I have 58 signups. It will be a few days before I see if those people convert, but we will see.

What do you think of my progress so far? I am still not getting it just yet. Hopefully I can find something that converts soon. I am only down $80 so far with no sales.

How do people afford to sell physical products using FB ads? There doesnt seem to be enough commission in it to be profitable. But I figured I might as well test a CJ product while I am at it, but I want some advice first.

Thanks
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Old 12-10-2009, 09:03 PM   #39
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Quote:
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I usually use pro events, and ifnd there's plenty of people in that. So for golf, you'd want something like "PGA Masters" as a peripheral keyword.
Any noobs reading this thread, pay attention to the sentence above me in quotes. This is the only GOOD and VITAL tip or even tidbit of AM info you will find in this thread, period. Read it over 1000000x times, and get some good keywords up in your facebook campaigns. It's not rocket science.

Quote:
Originally Posted by writtenstyle View Post
Hopefully I can find something that converts soon. I am only down $80 so far with no sales.
It was stated already, try free dating offers or game downloads. I have a feeling this was probably posted already in this thread but I dont want to go back and re-read all this so here: Example Facebook Campaign
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Old 12-10-2009, 10:06 PM   #40
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UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

Here are some screenshots and results of my progress so far.

Campaign 1

This is my first ever campaign. I was trying a Background Check offer. With article marketing, this was converting 1:15 for me. I got 44 total clicks according to the stats, and 0 conversions I was targeted dating females 35-35 with this using cpm. Not very targeted, as I was killed with cpc. Needless to say, no conversions from this campaign:



Notice the fail in that campaign? Anyway, it was my first and I learned a lot from that quick test.

Second Campaign

This campaign takes some explaining. I was targeting a very defined group of people direct linking to a Clickbank product. About half of the clicks you see went to the direct link. The rest, I setup a squeeze page. I figured, since I wasnt converting, maybe I could build a list. I will explain the numbers after the screenshot



Of those 431 clicks, I ended up with 295 HOPS and no sales. But, I was learning the targeting thing. Notice the cpc in this campiagn vs. my first? So, I paused the campaign and built a squeeze page. From that I have 202 clicks and 71 people on my list. Still no conversions, yet. But I will give the list a week and see if I can convert from it.

Campaign 3

I decided to try a Obama Poll Mobile offer. I thought I was targeting good, but who knows. Look at the screnshot first:



My first click was $2.45! I did some tweaking, and now the avg. is down to .53 cpc, using CPM bidding. According to my stats in CX Digital, I have 22 clicks with no conversions.

So, I have 0 conversions still. I dont know, this targeting thing to get the cpc down is just whipping me. But as you can see, I am trying.

That is all for this update.
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Old 12-10-2009, 11:31 PM   #41
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Quote:
Originally Posted by HarveyJ View Post
Greyhat: You're feeling is also also amazingly wrong. Just because you suck at converting FB doesn't mean it's an ineffectual platform. It means you suck at marketing on FB.

Webetricky: Yeah, FB keyword targeting isn't Google. No one puts "buy cheap golf shoes" as a hobby or interest, and that's what you're targeting.
You could maybe try brand names, although I've found this is a really piss poor way of getting sales in the sports related niche I do.
I usually use pro events, and ifnd there's plenty of people in that. So for golf, you'd want something like "PGA Masters" as a peripheral keyword.
Thanks man, +rep.

Writtenstyle, how many diff. ad copies do you submit at a time? I have been submitting 3-4 different ad copies, and then for each ad copy i submit a duplicate with diff. target. i.e.: adcopy1 aimed at females 18-24, adcopy1 aimed at females 25-34, adcopy1 aimed at males 18-24, etc., and then again for adcopy2, 3, etc.. This way you can very quickly see which ad / target is giving you a good ctr and pause the shitty ones...

One thing i don't understand ( and i have already searched for this..) is that some of my ad copies get very low impressions, when done with the method above, while others will get tons. It's like fb just isn't running them. I know adwords has an option to run ads with the best ctr more often but i couldn't find anything like this on fb. Are you having this issue at all?
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Old 12-11-2009, 01:28 PM   #42
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UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

At this point, I have a lot of respect for those of you having success at FB advertising.

I'm going to pause and regroup to see what to do next. I blew $130. I know that isnt much, but I havent made a single conversion.

We will see...
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Old 12-12-2009, 05:30 AM   #43
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Very good posts here to get more in Facebook PPC. While Facebook is still new comparing to Google. You still not made single conversion but you need wait some time.
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Old 12-12-2009, 11:35 PM   #44
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UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

At this point, I have a lot of respect for those of you having success at FB advertising.

I'm going to pause and regroup to see what to do next. I blew $130. I know that isnt much, but I havent made a single conversion.

We will see...
Man it's because you aren't taking a lot of the advice given to you in this thread. You need to ditch clickbank. That mobile obama offer was a step in the right direction and you only blew 15 bucks on it so who knows if it had potential. Try the suggested niches like gaming, education, or uhhh DATING

dating on facebook was my first profitable campaign ever. and it wasn't very long ago. Some newbies are in the mind state that dating is dead and no one would sign up to a dating site because they wouldn't do so themselves. And if dating on facebook is too competitive for you, just jump on Plenty of Fish self serve platform. It should be easier
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Old 12-12-2009, 11:39 PM   #45
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Man it's because you aren't taking a lot of the advice given to you in this thread. You need to ditch clickbank. That mobile obama offer was a step in the right direction and you only blew 15 bucks on it so who knows if it had potential. Try the suggested niches like gaming, education, or uhhh DATING

dating on facebook was my first profitable campaign ever. and it wasn't very long ago. Some newbies are in the mind state that dating is dead and no one would sign up to a dating site because they wouldn't do so themselves. And if dating on facebook is too competitive for you, just jump on Plenty of Fish self serve platform. It should be easier

Pushing dating on Facebook is becoming much more difficult, tons of people are pushing it since rebills are dying, impressions are harder to come by, CPC's are up and conversions are down.
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Old 12-12-2009, 11:53 PM   #46
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Man it's because you aren't taking a lot of the advice given to you in this thread. You need to ditch clickbank. That mobile obama offer was a step in the right direction and you only blew 15 bucks on it so who knows if it had potential. Try the suggested niches like gaming, education, or uhhh DATING

dating on facebook was my first profitable campaign ever. and it wasn't very long ago. Some newbies are in the mind state that dating is dead and no one would sign up to a dating site because they wouldn't do so themselves. And if dating on facebook is too competitive for you, just jump on Plenty of Fish self serve platform. It should be easier
Thanks for the advice. I actually have given up on the CB stuff. I am currently taking all the advice and going with one of the offers mentioned in this thread. I am going to go live Monday, with 50 ads in the campaign.

With dating, are you targeting keywords?
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Old 12-13-2009, 07:03 PM   #47
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^^ i was wondering about kw targeting with dating also...
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Old 12-13-2009, 10:26 PM   #48
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^^ i was wondering about kw targeting with dating also...
Yeah definitely keyword target, also targetting specific demographics such as city can help if you put it in your ad text.
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Old 12-14-2009, 02:44 AM   #49
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Ahhh kids... let me give you some quick and dirty advice with that platform:

1. DO NOT direct link from FB to an offer that has a Credit Card involved. It won't work. Period
2. Start testing the campaign with CPC. Set budget 10 times higher than the payout and recommended bids. If the payout is $1.50, your budget is $15. No more.
3. When you find a good CTR ad, only THEN go to CPM. It's stupid to pay over $1 on clicks with CPM.
4. If you're doing dating, do only CPM. Otherwise it'll be very expensive. Everything else, stick to CPC model first. When you're a n00b, you have to control your CPC very carefully. With CPM you can't.
5. Start tests when you think your demo is going to be in front of the computer. If your ad is approved at 8 AM on Sunday and you start the test with your demo being college students, you're SOL. Control the start of a test yourself. And sit there to watch it closely. I've lost thousands because I wasn't in front of my screen during the initial tests.
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Old 12-14-2009, 02:52 AM   #50
FatalError
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Half of what you said is bullshit & not true for everyone out there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Ahhh kids... let me give you some quick and dirty advice with that platform:

1. DO NOT direct link from FB to an offer that has a Credit Card involved. It won't work. Period
2. Start testing the campaign with CPC. Set budget 10 times higher than the payout and recommended bids. If the payout is $1.50, your budget is $15. No more.
3. When you find a good CTR ad, only THEN go to CPM. It's stupid to pay over $1 on clicks with CPM.
4. If you're doing dating, do only CPM. Otherwise it'll be very expensive. Everything else, stick to CPC model first. When you're a n00b, you have to control your CPC very carefully. With CPM you can't.
5. Start tests when you think your demo is going to be in front of the computer. If your ad is approved at 8 AM on Sunday and you start the test with your demo being college students, you're SOL. Control the start of a test yourself. And sit there to watch it closely. I've lost thousands because I wasn't in front of my screen during the initial tests.
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