|
|||||||
| Shooting The Shit This is where the action is for all webmasters alike. Anything goes, seriously. Come meet and network with your peers, it's a fun way to take a break out of your busy day of posting at other boring forums. |
|
Welcome to the WickedFire - Affiliate Marketing Forum - Internet Marketing Webmaster SEO Forum forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack (1) | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Duncing In The Streets
|
This webhost where I have 9 domains/websites hosted suddenly redirected all my websites to a Landing Page for no reason.
The hosting is paid for and without warning ehost.net did this without notifying me first. So I had these websites populated and was bringing in traffic and suddenly he erases them out... I cannot even access cPanel anymore. The ridiculous thing is I emailed him on what the heck he was doing and he states that he is allowed to do this (without notifying me first) redirecting websites to a landing page. And he refuses to budge or acknowledge that he is doing anything wrong, and he is smug about it. Here is one of the websites rate travel last minute deal at travel-rates.com The website was a travel portal with 300 pages of articles. This is just one of the websites. There are 8 more. What can I do. I know he is breaking the law, but he doesn't think so. His domain ehost.net is registered with GoDaddy. I can contact them.. as I have all PayPal subscription payments and screenshots of the proper DNS designations etc. pointing to his server... so at least I can get his domain locked. He should pay for this. What actions should I take? |
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Bumbling Optimist
|
I'm bumping this because it blew my mind. You gotta get this fucker. Take him down using any method at your disposal. (Start with legal methods --> less legal methods)
__________________
"I don't fail - I succeed at finding things that don't work" - Christopher Titus ________________________________________ Fuck Godaddy + HostGator Rocks + Copeac = $$$ |
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
|
You should post some of your e-mail conversations. My first impression was that there might have been a billing mistake and they suspended the account. But from what you claim he is saying to you, it sounds like something more devious is going on.
The first step, regardless of what is truely going on, is to pull your domains from his nameservers. If it doesn't seem like he's going to all of a sudden give you access again - you just have to move on for now. You don't want your sites to just be down. Get your sites back online on another host, then figure out what to do to this guy. You don't want your sites to be down while you are figuring this out, and you don't want him to profit from your traffic by leaving them pointed to his nameservers. After you move out, you need to focus on getting a refund for the period of time that is left on your contract. I'm offering 60-Day free web hosting trials for WickedFire members only right now. See the signature and PM me if you're interested. |
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | ||||||
|
Duncing In The Streets
|
Here is my email correspondence with him in chronological order...
In Bold are his replies. The funny thing is as someone said. he flogs 3 domains for $11.95 on ebay. Been with them for several years because of the affordability... and had no major problems other that the server being down... the normal stuff. Then this week he redirected all my accounts I had with him 9 domains and then he bills me on Friday for the scheduled Paypal payment... First I asked for a refund Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I'm contacting GoDaddy to get his domain frozen and will contact ebay and Paypal as well. I was planning to let him off easy by just settling for a refund... but you know his response. Buyer Beware |
||||||
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
Automation Specialist
|
Here's an idea, why not call him? He was stupid enough to leave his whois info public:
eHost L.L.C., eHost L.L.C. Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com eHost L.L.C. P.O. Box 336 Medina, Washington 98039 United States 9729162 Fax -- I believe the area code for Medina is 425
__________________
Contempt and fuel your online business with Business Caffeine - Cash by AKMG Quote:
Last edited by Bofu2U; 08-18-2007 at 06:03 PM.. Reason: Edit Area Code Change |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) | |
|
Automation Specialist
|
Oh, and PS - Good luck getting his domain frozen. Out of the years I've been reporting people for fraud, not one has done it. It's easier, a lot easier said than done.
__________________
Contempt and fuel your online business with Business Caffeine - Cash by AKMG Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
![]() |
So you registered your domains with this host... so the host owns these domains? Because they are "redirected", as you say, at DNS level.
If not, the host is not responsible for this. Searching for www.travel-rates.com A record at a.root-servers.net [198.41.0.4]: Got referral to D.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. (zone: com.) [took 37 ms] Searching for www.travel-rates.com A record at D.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. [192.31.80.30]: Got referral to ns1.sedoparking.com. (zone: travel-rates.com.) [took 26 ms] Searching for www.travel-rates.com A record at ns1.sedoparking.com. [74.208.13.27]: Reports www.travel-rates.com. [took 13 ms] Response: DomainTypeClassTTLAnswer www.travel-rates.com.AIN60082.98.86.162
__________________
i am fail |
|
|
|
|
#19 (permalink) |
|
Turbocharged, Bitch
|
LOL I was actually just reviewing them... check it out here (Reviewed: EHost.net | AffiliateWeb.org) Good luck bud!
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
#21 (permalink) | |
![]() |
Sorry.. but any professional host that spells "hear" as "here" should be the first sign to get the fuck away from. If they can't spell simple words correctly, or have the brains to use a spelling checker on their support emails, then I wouldn't trust them just based on that!
Pack it up and find someone else man. It's your fault too for making a mistake like this, but hey, live and learn right?
__________________
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 (permalink) | |
![]() |
If you're willing to spend a few hundred bucks and want to take this guy down hardcore, and get your domains back, our lawyer specializes in domain issues. He's the one we're using to subpeona Google with to sue that jackass that used WickedFire.com in their adsense/adwords campaign. He's VERY good. He's also Copeac's lawyer. He's solid, and he is also straight forward and honest, not a quality you find very often in a lawyer. Not to mention he's pretty fucking intimidating in the domainer world, and I'm glad he's on my side because he's the type of guy you don't want to face in or out of court.
__________________
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#25 (permalink) | |
|
Banned
|
Quote:
They can't touch you man, all you di was give you opinion about their crappy service. Keep it posted, why are you backing down from ehost.net and the owner's threats? |
|
|
|
|
|
#26 (permalink) | |
|
Domainers...
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.wickedfire.com/shooting-shit/16164-my-webhost-hijacked-my-domains-redirected-them-landing-page.html
|
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| Reviewed: EHost.net | AffiliateWeb.org | This thread | Pingback | 08-19-2007 12:11 PM | |