I feel a strange sense of pride in this email I just received, so I felt the need to share:
So now what? Do they have a leg to stand on? I mean, their claim of possible confusion is a bit of a stretch. I made a point to stay away from their blue/white color scheme and their logos. They said they don't care about the url Chase-Sucks, so wouldn't this fall under a parody/complaint site. I can only imagine that paypalsucks.com was similarly threatened, but they're still up.
I was actually going to sell the site now that it has some value, but with the letter, I don't know if I can (at least not without disclosing to the new owner). Any advice?
First, I would just like to say - I rule. I only built the site because they pissed me off one day (as usual), and I wanted to try to make them feel my pain. Then a few months into it, people started sending me their stories, so I posted them. Then it started ranking #1 for all kinds of negative Chase terms like Chase Sucks, Chase Bank Sucks, etc. and started to get a little traffic so I threw a few offers on it. It doesn't make a lot but now that it has gotten the attention of JP Morgan Chase, I'm starting to like that little site.JPMorgan Chase & Co.We are writing on behalf of JPMorgan Chase & Co. and its subsidiaries (collectively, “JPMorgan Chase”) to you, as the registrant of the Internet domain name chase-sucks.com.JPMorgan Chase has well-established rights to , as its trademark for banking and financial services. JPMorgan Chase’s trademark rights in are based on the long-standing and extensive use of by our firm or its predecessors. JPMorgan Chase owns trademark registrations that consist of or contain .Our firm does not object to your ownership of chase-sucks.com. However, JPMorgan Chase has determined that the website located at chase-sucks.com contains references to banking or other financial services. This content, placed on the website located at chase-sucks.com, creates a likelihood of confusion about the source of these services.If you believe that your references to banking or other financial services at chase-sucks.com have been authorized by JPMorgan Chase, please specify the source of this authorization and the date on which you received it. If you have not received such authorization, our firm demands that you immediately remove all banking or financial services references from all web pages that are located at chase-sucks.com.JPMorgan Chase would like to resolve this matter amicably if at all possible. Please respond in writing to brandprotection@jpmchase.com within ten days from the date of this message. Otherwise, our firm will assume that you are unwilling to comply with this demand. In that event, JPMorgan Chase will take all steps that it deems necessary to enforce its trademark and other legal rights.Our firm looks forward to a prompt reply to this message.JP Morgan Chase Brand Protection
301 N. Walnut Street
1CC - 17th Floor - DE1-0175
Wilmington, DE 19801
Fax: 1-302-282-3001
So now what? Do they have a leg to stand on? I mean, their claim of possible confusion is a bit of a stretch. I made a point to stay away from their blue/white color scheme and their logos. They said they don't care about the url Chase-Sucks, so wouldn't this fall under a parody/complaint site. I can only imagine that paypalsucks.com was similarly threatened, but they're still up.
I was actually going to sell the site now that it has some value, but with the letter, I don't know if I can (at least not without disclosing to the new owner). Any advice?