171 Clicks/61 Clicks, 1 Conversion

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wdmny

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Jun 27, 2006
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I setup a simple ringtone promo through Azoogle using adwords to basically get a feel for promoting affiliate offers. After spending ~$8 at ~20cent clicks (minimum bid) and sending 30 clicks to Azoogle, I made one sale. Now, my CTR from my landing page has plummeted, as I have sent 170 clicks to my landing page and only 60 have made it to Azoogle, still only 1 has converted.

My keyword list is a few hundred and it should be pretty solid and on-target. Ex, variations of "nelly furtado ringtones" with phrase and exact matching. I have keywords for any artist that is in the charts right now.

What type of conversions (landing page to affiliate page, clicks to sales) should affiliates expect through PPC marketing?

Also, thanks to WF for inspiring me to actually do something. I am not a total noob, but this is the first attempt I have made in this area.
 


About 75% of the clicks I receive from AdWords make it through to the offer. I think there's still a lot of room for improvement.

You should consider revising your landing page.

I also get about a 5% conversion rate (1 sale on 20 clicks), but I've heard others on WF do much better in the neighborhood of 12%.
 
That's more what I was expecting going in, so my results were a little disappointing. When you say 5% action rate, is that clicks from PPC or from the landing page?

I'll definitely work on my landing page.
 
Here are some rough example numbers:

100 AdWords Clicks
75 Clicks to Offer (Azoogle) (75% of 100)
3.75 Sales (5% of 75)

Hope this helps.
 
I setup a simple ringtone promo through Azoogle using adwords to basically get a feel for promoting affiliate offers. After spending ~$8 at ~20cent clicks (minimum bid) and sending 30 clicks to Azoogle, I made one sale. Now, my CTR from my landing page has plummeted, as I have sent 170 clicks to my landing page and only 60 have made it to Azoogle, still only 1 has converted.

$8 / $0.20 = 40 clicks

Where did 170 come from?
 
I have a landing page, so there are 2 click throughs. One goes from Google to my landing page, the next is to Azoogle. The $8 was for about 60 clicks, of which about half made it to Azoogle.

The 170 clicks is the present for Adwords, and I've spent a little over $30 (including some site-targetted testing that I did). Right now I've only sent 61 clicks to Azoogle, so I've almost tripled what I sent to my landing page, but only doubled the visits to Azoogle, and with no more conversions.
 
I don't know of any azoogle ringtone offers that let you specifically tatget artists. If you are keywording artists and records and dumping them to a fairly generic dada landing page, for example, I suspect conversions would be low because you took very targetted traffic and dumped them on a very generic landing page.

There is nothing about Nelly Furtado listed on most of the landing pages, nor is there any information for how to get a nelly furtado ringtone. So I suspect most people bail because they are not even be offered what they where looking for in the first place.
 
My landing page targets whatever the person searches for. I am not the only one using artists in my keywords, as there are a few pages of ads if you search for "artistname ringtones".
 
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