A study in campaign failure: Wu fucking yi

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affiliatearmy

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May 22, 2008
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Ok- not fearing to test a slightly competitive niche :) ,
I try a campaign with wu yi..
(and yeah I know this product is dated..)

Fun facts:

A) adwords only
B) seperate content and search campaigns
C) about two weeks of adgroup creation, tweaks, additions, cuts etc.
D) 10 various lps.
E) 10 ad variations.
F) two wu yi offers
=============================
some basic stats:

Adwords:
clicks: 219
Impressions: 400k
ad ctr: .05
total ad spend: $219.00


Network:
clicks to offer: 139 sales= 1 payout $38.00 conversion: 0.72% epc $0.27
=====================

WTF??????

Thoughts ladies and gentlemen?..............
 


could be anything still...

ad copy, keywords, sites, anything...

also, it doesnt help that wu yi is old. if you knew this, why didnt you just do acai like the rest of us?
 
C) about two weeks of adgroup creation, tweaks, additions, cuts etc.
D) 10 various lps.

It looks like you're investing way too much energy into 219 clicks. When you're running a test you need 219 clicks to evaluate about 2 lps. Overall, it looks like you're sending only 20 clicks to each lp, which isn't giving you any useful feedback, and is taking a lot of your energy in revising the lps.
Plus, you did get one conversion, its at least a start... to keep you motivated.
 
You are also paying $1 per click, which may not be profitable with WuYi.

Your CTR isn't bad, but again if the offer itself doesn't convert that well there isn't much you can do (i.e. you had 139 clicks go directly to the offer and only 1 converted).
 
Testing an offer with 219 clicks is like assuming you have HIV after sleeping with 1 person in 1 night. When you sleep with like 20 people in 1 night then we can talk.

In other words, more clicks...
 
You are also paying $1 per click, which may not be profitable with WuYi.

I'm paying more. Basically breaking even now, but it's only been 3 days - mostly testing. Trying to accept the high clicks and get more conversions. Not working yet though..

Any traffic driven without 'wu yi' in the search has been completely dead for me..
 
could be anything still...

ad copy, keywords, sites, anything...

also, it doesnt help that wu yi is old. if you knew this, why didnt you just do acai like the rest of us?

just because wu yi has been around longer than acai doesn't mean it doesn't convert as well

jesus
 
Ok- not fearing to test a slightly competitive niche :) ,
I try a campaign with wu yi..
(and yeah I know this product is dated..)

Fun facts:

A) adwords only
B) seperate content and search campaigns
C) about two weeks of adgroup creation, tweaks, additions, cuts etc.
D) 10 various lps.
E) 10 ad variations.
F) two wu yi offers
=============================
some basic stats:

Adwords:
clicks: 219
Impressions: 400k
ad ctr: .05
total ad spend: $219.00


Network:
clicks to offer: 139 sales= 1 payout $38.00 conversion: 0.72% epc $0.27
=====================

WTF??????

Thoughts ladies and gentlemen?..............


You're testing entirely too many landing pages for that low of click volume. Not to mention that if that is the total clicks between search and content, that really isnt a good test base.

You need to test more click and time if you can afford it. I had a stretch of hours when i sent roughly that many clicks to an lp with no conversions, then later in the day the page killed it. So you need to test longer before you draw conclusions.

Or, all 10 LPs could be bad.
 
I use to run the wuyi, tough in the US IMHO, but did pretty well outside the US....

Your ad copy and bidding must suck if your only getting .05 CTR - and I'm sure that has something huge to do about it.
 
I gave up on my recent wuyi campaign. I was paying an average over $2 a click. My first click made a sale, but then i went 0 for 100... Its hard when you need a sales ratio under 1:15 to pull a profit.
 
how the heck does people convert well with 1 dollar or two dollar clicks?

How the heck do people get clicks without spending ~$2 a click. I was targeting about 100 keywords. Only using the search network. 40% of those keywords were charging around ~$2 a click (the good keywords). The other 60% generated a very limited amount of impressions. - All with a quality score of 7+ and good CTR.
 
Adwords:
clicks: 219
Impressions: 400k
ad ctr: .05
total ad spend: $219.00

Network:
clicks to offer: 139 sales= 1 payout $38.00 conversion: 0.72% epc $0.27
First issue as pointed out earlier is your paying a fucking $1/click on a $38 dollar product that I'm sure when you first started promoting you had no real clue on the conversion rates.

Seriously if your not 100% sure what your conversion rates are going to be estimate for a lower value first so you don't fuck yourself, lets say the industry average is 3% conversion rate (You found out via some sort of online method) so estimate that you just starting to run it can hit half that at 1.5% conversion rate.

This means we do the following calculation to find the Max CPC to break even with.

1.5*$38=$57 $57/100=$0.57

To be safe your Max CPC should be set to 0.57 cents per click, not $1 dollar.

If you know forsure your Conversion rate would be a lot higher then you can compensate for it by re-doing the calculations.

However if you have no clue what the conversions are going to be for an offer then its best to assume anywhere from a 1-2% conversion rate just to be safe and then once you start testing and get some real data to back you up then you can adjust your campaign settings, budget, ect...

The game is Numbers, Numbers, Numbers, they don't lie and its easier to let them tell you what to do next then someone else making an assumption.

Also clicks should be at about 200 or more to make any valid assumptions on the data, but this also will very depending on what your promoting, ect... higher payout offers will need more data (More clicks) before you can make any valid assumptions.
 
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Now the trick is getting traffic for 0.57 a click. Intl traffic is just a little more than that but converts shitty (so far)
 
If you can't spend the bucks like the big dawgs, you'll want to find some under advertised words to build up your data (and yes they do exist, even for diet drugs). Test with cheaper keywords and tweak your campaign when you're not blowing through $1k daily.

+1 to Aequitas ... numbers don't lie, if you're setting up a campaign to lose 40% from the get go, you need to head back to Algebra class.
 
On a Diet offer if you dont start you Keywords out at 2.00 your in trouble also go with at least 1k keywords
 
Based on the way you are currently running your campaign, I wouldn't expect much positive results. First of all, way to many landing pages. You can't make an educated business decision from 200 clicks spread against 10 landing pages; that is basically 20 clicks per landing page. So first of all, downsize your landing pages; 2-3 is sufficient for starting; then you may start tweaking and split-testing some more. I would also keep a close eye at your landing page CTR that you failed to list in your post; that is definitely something you would want to analyze.

Second of all, based on your stats, it seems that you're paying $1 per click; but you're EPC is approximately 1/4 of that. What you need to do at this point is get some more AD's going, so you could get a higher CTR AD. If you plan to bank in this niche; then you better have a 5%+ CTR; so you're bids could go down. You shouldn't have a problem bringing you're bids down to 0.50 cents if you are capable of attaining a 9/10+ quality score. From this point, you would make sure to optimize your landing page all together. I run diet and my EPC is above $1.50; so I don't see why you couldn't even get half of mine; which would already put you towards a positive ROI.
 
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