Where is traffic cheapest on pof?

BenPOF

https://ads.pof.com
Nov 2, 2009
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Vancouver, BC
www.pof.com
I did a post back that gave some insight on which ad spots have the lowest CPM’s (and hence the least competition and most opportunity) so I figure I’d do it again now to help everyone involved end the year strong. So, here we go!

UK males – all ad sizes. Surprisingly, the UK male has the lowest CPM’s on desktop traffic. 160′s are lowest, followed by 728, then 300′s.
Canadian males – 160′s are lowest followed by 728′s.
Canadian females – 728×90′s

And it looks like across the board on mobile web, 160×600 and 728×90 have the lowest CPM’s.

** 728×90 also includes 960×110 and the small ads (since 3 small ads = 1 banner).

Hope this helps!

Ben
 


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Here's proof ladies and gents. 2 campaigns with identical targeting/CPM.
Even though Canada has 1/2 the volume of the US, because low CPM.. you'll get 2x as much impressions in Canada for the same CPM vs. the US.
 
This bothered me when I first saw it. Why is there a 160x600 ad for mobile? Seems a bit out of place. Same thing for 728x90. I think we can all figure out why those would not be getting great results - hence why it has low CPMs. Isn't it possible to auto replace those ads with something more suitable for mobile?​
 
This bothered me when I first saw it. Why is there a 160x600 ad for mobile? Seems a bit out of place. Same thing for 728x90. I think we can all figure out why those would not be getting great results - hence why it has low CPMs. Isn't it possible to auto replace those ads with something more suitable for mobile?​

I ran mobile ads not on POF but ALWAYS include 300x250 sized ads and they perform kind of great (compared to 320x50 sized ads)...
 
I ran mobile ads not on POF but ALWAYS include 300x250 sized ads and they perform kind of great (compared to 320x50 sized ads)...

Yeah, that's what I mean; those sizes make sense, but a 160x600 ad on a mobile device like the iPhone really doesn't make sense. The ad is too big and has to be scrolled down through to see it completely.

I guess someone could get creative and create an add that is chopped up into sections so when users scroll while looking at this ad it creates a message that's unique, but that's going to take some creativity.

There is still the 728x90 ad, I mean, how many people scroll side-ways? Even on the desktop, very very few, scrolling side ways on a mobile to view a 728 width doesn't sound natural.

I figure they can auto-replace those ads with sizes that are better suited for mobile when a mobile device is detected - increasing the inventory for those better sizes. Just my 2 cents.​
 
Yeah, that's what I mean; those sizes make sense, but a 160x600 ad on a mobile device like the iPhone really doesn't make sense. The ad is too big and has to be scrolled down through to see it completely.

I guess someone could get creative and create an add that is chopped up into sections so when users scroll while looking at this ad it creates a message that's unique, but that's going to take some creativity.

There is still the 728x90 ad, I mean, how many people scroll side-ways? Even on the desktop, very very few, scrolling side ways on a mobile to view a 728 width doesn't sound natural.

I figure they can auto-replace those ads with sizes that are better suited for mobile when a mobile device is detected - increasing the inventory for those better sizes. Just my 2 cents.​

I see those size ads when I viewed pof mobile web on my phone and having purchased a decent amount of mobile inventory myself, I would agree they are not the most ideal format for mobile ads. Maybe there is a reason for why those are on pof mobile web. I haven't run those ads personally to see the CPM/CTR so I can't say. This is conjecture and perhaps Ben can weigh in with reasonings.
 
Basically, the mobile web is a reflection of web and we were going to optimize it with new ads but then apps came on the scene and started dominating. So, all of our developer's time and energy went into making better apps since that's where all the signups are happening.